This website is intended for healthcare professionals only.

Hospital Healthcare Europe
Hospital Pharmacy Europe     Newsletter    Login            

Bayer Ophthalmology Honours launched at the Royal College of Ophthalmologists’ Annual Congress

A new awards programme, Bayer Ophthalmology Honours, has been launched by Bayer HealthCare at the Royal College of Ophthalmologists’ Annual Congress. The programme aims to recognise and celebrate, on an annual basis, the outstanding work being carried out by multi-disciplinary teams in ophthalmology throughout the UK. Supported by the Macular Society and the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB), the awards will identify exceptional initiatives that demonstrate clinical excellence and innovation in ophthalmology.

Commenting on the launch of the awards, Dr Jackie Napier, Medical Director Ophthalmology, Bayer HealthCare said: “At Bayer we are committed to the ophthalmic community and to improving outcomes for patients with sight-threatening eye conditions. Initiatives such as the Bayer Ophthalmology Honours have been developed to recognise excellent patient care and those who deliver it, in order to support and facilitate the sharing of innovation within the clinical community. We hope that this awards programme will be of great value and will continue to support the ophthalmology community for years to come.

The development of the awards programme has been guided by a steering committee of experts including consultant ophthalmologists, specialist nurses and representatives from the Macular Society and RNIB. Award entries will be judged by the steering committee alongside other experts in ophthalmology care, with the decision-making process being wholly independent from Bayer.

Helen Devonport, Consultant in Ophthalmology, Bradford Royal Infirmary and steering committee member commented: “Patients are at the centre of everything we do and as a community we are always striving to provide the best care we can to achieve optimum clinical outcomes for patients. Bayer Ophthalmology Honours not only supports the sharing of best practice at a clinical level, it also supports the entire multi-disciplinary team that cares for patients from volunteers to essential non-clinical staff. I would encourage everyone in the ophthalmology community to enter the awards and to share the outstanding work that is being carried out across the UK.”  

There are five award categories this year including:

  • Best ophthalmology team
  • Best patient support or education initiative
  • Best ophthalmology care innovation
  • Outstanding ophthalmology nurse or allied health professional
  • Ophthalmology unsung hero

Entries are welcome from anyone working in the field of ophthalmology in the UK. Submissions and/or nominations are welcome from healthcare professionals, non-clinical staff, charities, patient associations, volunteers and patients.

The deadline for applications is Friday 21 August 2015.  Award winners will be announced at the Bayer Ophthalmology Honours ceremony, to which all short-listed entrants will be invited, on Wednesday 2 December 2015.

Further information on the categories and entry process for Bayer Ophthalmology Honours can be found at